UCRIVERSIDE Student Services Fee Advisory Committee

Tuesday, February 26, 2019; 2:10 PM to 4:00 PM HUB Room 367

Approved Meeting Minutes | Meeting Minutes Approved on April 2, 2019

Name	Association	Voting	Attendance ²
		Privilege ¹	
Johnathan Li	Undergraduate, Chair	Х	Р
Lennin Kuri	Undergraduate, Vice Chair	Х	А
Rachel Victoria Arroyos	Undergraduate	Х	А
Gabriel Guzman	Undergraduate	Х	А
Karina Masatani	Undergraduate	Х	Р
Jose Cortez-Hernandez	Undergraduate, ASUCR VP of Internal Affairs	Х	Р
Derreck Carter-House	GSA	Х	Р
Judit Palencia Gutierrez	GSA	Х	А
Stephanie King	GSA	Х	Р
Chia-en Chang	Faculty	Х	AL
Richard Rodriguez	Faculty	Х	Р
Sally Tavizon	Staff	Х	А
Sabrina Schuster	Staff	Х	Р
Gustavo Tinajero	ASUCR Alternate		Р
Tony Xu	ASUCR Alternate		А
Jemuel Garcia	GSA Alternate		А
Semi Cole	Ex-Officio, ASUCR President		А
Shawn Ragan	Ex-Officio, GSA President		А
Cathy Eckman	Ex-Officio, VCSA		Р
Militza Seehaver	Staff Support, VCSA		Р
Brandon Lieu	Student Secretary, VCSA		Р

¹ "X" indicates voting privilege

² P: Present | A: Absent | AL: Arrived Late | LE: Left Early

1. Call to Order: 2:11 PM

- 2. Approve the Agenda
 - Motion to Approve the Agenda by Derreck Carter-House, Seconded by Stephanie King.
 Agenda Approved without Objections
- 3. Approve Meeting Minutes February 12, 2019
 - Motion to Approve the Meeting Minutes of February 12, 2019 by Jose Cortez-Hernandez, Seconded by Sabrina Schuster.
 - Meeting Minutes of February 12, 2019 approved without Objections
- 4. Discussion on Shared Understanding of SFF Guidelines & Principles
 - *Chair Johnathan Li* gave a brief overview of the priority list of departments that are being considered for SFF withdraw. The committee collectively discussed the programs of the departments listed and reviewed their requests. *Cathy Eckman* mentioned to consider if there are other sources of funding outside of SSFAC that might be available to each department.
- 5. Discussion and Voting on Incorporation of Assessment Fee into Individual Department Budgets
 - *Chair Johnathan Li* introduced the idea of incorporating the University of California Office of the President Assessment Fee into individual department budgets instead of the assessment fee being covered by 20000 funds (Student Service Fees).
 - *Cathy Eckman* clarified that the removal of the approximated \$850,000 fee from SSF funding would allow funding for the priorities and needs of the UCR student body in the future years. However, this would essentially be a budget cut to each department. Also, it could result in individual departments coming to the committee requesting this line item funding to cover the UCOP Funding Streams Assessment.
 - Motion to Approve Incorporation of Assessment Fee into Individual Department Budgets by Stephanie King, Seconded by Derreck Carter-House
 - Roll Call Vote | Yea: 7 | No: 0 | Abs.: 1 |
 - Derreck Carter-House: yea
 - Chia-en Chang: yea
 - Stephanie King: yea
 - Johnathan Li: yea
 - Jose Cortez-Hernandez: abstain
 - Richard Rodriguez: yea
 - Sabrina Schuster: yea
 - Sally Tavizon: yea
 - Incorporation of Assessment Fee into Individual Department Budgets Approved by Majority Vote
- 6. Discussion and Formation of Subcommittee on Process Improvement
 - *Chair Johnathan Li* introduced the idea to form a subcommittee that would assess the current procedural processes of SSFAC and recommend ways in which specific areas SSFAC can be improved in future years. *Chair Johnathan Li* indicated that the subcommittee shall consist of four members: the Chair *or* Vice Chair, one undergraduate, one graduate, and one faculty/staff member. The responsibilities of the subcommittee include developing ideas that would improve process efficiency.

• *Chair Johnathan Li* opened the room for volunteers. The following members have volunteered to participate in the committee:

Jose Cortez-Hernandez, Stephanie King, Sabrina Schuster

- 7. Discussion and Overview of Initiative Process Flow Chart
 - *Chair Johnathan Li* gave a brief overview of the Initiative Process Flow Chart included in the Agenda Packet. *Chair Johnathan Li* guided the committee through the flow chart which displayed the procedures and final recommendations regarding the implementation of Zero-Based Budgeting and Bylaw Amendments that the committee can expect for the remainder of the 2018 - 2019Academic Year.
- 8. Chair Nomination and Questions
 - *Chair Johnathan Li* discussed the role of the Chair of SSFAC and the qualifications in order to be nominated as Chair. Chair qualifications can be found in the SSFAC Bylaws under *Article IV: Officer, Section A: Chair, Number 1. Chair Johnathan Li* opened the floor for nominations for Chair and the Committee as a whole agreed that individuals who are not currently present during the meeting could accept their nominations over email.
 - *Gustavo Tinajero* was nominated for Chair by *Derreck Carter-House*. *Gustavo Tinajero* declined his nomination.
 - *Vice Chair Lennin Kuri* was nominated for Chair by *Chair Johnathan Li*. The nomination is pending email acceptance or denial of nomination.
 - *Jemuel Garcia* was nominated by *Stephanie King*. The nomination is pending email acceptance or denial of nomination.
 - *Chair Johnathan Li* opened discussion to committee members to form interview questions that will be asked to the nominees for Chair. Both *Derreck Carter-House* and *Jose Cortez-Hernandez* agree that one of the interview questions should question whether or not the candidate may be able to fully support and guide the committee based on their availability and their prior commitments.
- 9. Chair Comments
 - *Chair Johnathan Li* updated the committee on the SSFAC New Member Applications. Currently, a total of 8 individuals (7 undergraduate students and 1 graduate student) have submitted applications for SSFAC.

10. Public Comments

- No Public Comments
- 11. Adjourn: 2:46 PM
 - Motion to Adjourn by Derreck Carter-House, Seconded by Karina Masatani.
 - Adjournment Approved without Objections