UC RIVERSIDE Student Services Fee Advisory Committee

Tuesday, May 10 th , 2022; 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM Meeting Minutes Zoom Meeting Meeting Minutes Approved on October 11 th , 2022			
Name	Association	Voting Privilege ¹	Attendance ²
Jared Smith	Graduate, Chair	Х	Р
Salvador Jr. Olguin	Undergraduate	Х	Р
Yulissa Navarro	Undergraduate	Х	Р
Arshneel Kaur	Undergraduate, ASUCR VP of Internal Affairs	X	А
Milly Analco	Undergraduate		P/LE
Victor Garcia	Undergraduate		А
Michael Seley	Graduate	X	Р
Habiba Naqvi	Graduate		AL
Rong Hai	Faculty	Х	Р
Michalis Faloutsos	Faculty	Х	AL
Essam Ulhaq	Faculty	X	Р
Sally Tavizon	Staff	X	Р
William Wang	Ex-Officio, ASUCR President		А
Valeria Dominguez	Ex-Officio, GSA President		P/LE
Kim McDade	Ex-Officio, VCSA		Р
Militza Seehaver	Staff Support, VCSA		Р
Daisy Rivera	Student Secretary, VCSA		Р
Angela Chien	Student Secretary, VCSA		Р

"X" indicates voting privilege
 P: Present | A: Absent | AL: Arrived Late | LE: Left Early

Call to Order: 3:01 PM

- 1. Approve the Agenda
 - Motion to Approve the Agenda by Yulissa Navarro, Seconded by Essam Ulhaq.
 Agenda Approved without Objections
- 2. Approve Meeting Minutes April 19th, 2022
 - Motion to Approve the Meeting Minutes of April 19th, 2022 by Essam Ulhaq, Seconded by Michalis Faloutsos.
 - Meeting Minutes of April 19th, 2022 Approved without Objections.
- 3. Review of the Submitted Applications
 - Chair *Jared Smith* noted that the applications were reviewed with the GSA and ASUCR president. Chair *Jared Smith* outlined that applications were ranked based on how long the student applicant can serve, the quality of the student applicants' answers, and the student applicant's activity in the student community
 - Motion to Elevate Victor Garcia as an Undergraduate Voting Member by Chair Jared Smith, Seconded by Michalis Faloutsos.
 - Voting Results
 - Yea: 7
 - Nay: 0
 - Abs.: 1
 - Victor Garcia elevated to Voting Member.
- 4. Vote for New Committee Members
 - In preparation for the 2022 2023 Academic School Year, SSFAC is in need of three new Undergraduate Members and three new Graduate Members to replace the 2021-2022 Committee Members who will not be returning. After careful consideration and evaluation of the applicants, the Committee has selected a total of three Undergraduate Members and three Graduate Members to appoint.
 - Undergraduate Members
 - Chukwufunanya "Funanya" Ikechukwu
 - Motion to Appoint Chukwufunanya "Funanya" Ikechukwu as an Undergraduate Voting Member by Essam, Seconded by Michalis Faloutsos
 - Voting Results
 - Yea: 7
 - Nay: 0
 - Abs.: 1

- Chukwufunanya "Funanya" Ikechukwu appointed as Undergraduate Voting Member.
- Ye Sol "Ava" Ham
 - Motion to Appoint Ye Sol "Ava" Ham as an Undergraduate Non-Voting Alternate Member by Chair Jared Smith, Seconded by Essam Ulhaq
 - Voting Results
 - Yea: 8
 - Nay: 0
 - *Abs.*: 0
 - Ye Sol "Ava" Ham appointed as Undergraduate Non-Voting Alternate Member without Objections.
- Shih Ching Lee
 - Motion to Appoint Shih Ching Lee as an Undergraduate Non-Voting Alternate Member by Chair Jared Smith, Seconded by Michalis Faloutsos
 - Voting Results
 - Yea: 8
 - *Nay:* 0
 - Abs.: 0
 - Shih Ching Lee appointed as Undergraduate Non-Voting Alternate Member without Objections.
- o Graduate Members
 - David Nikom
 - Motion to Appoint David Nikon as a Graduate Voting Member by Chair Jared Smith, Seconded by Rong Hai
 - Voting Results
 - Yea: 8
 - Nay: 0
 - *Abs.*: 0
 - David Nikon appointed as Graduate Voting Member without Objections.
 - Jose Humberto Alvarez
 - Motion to Appoint Jose Humberto Alvarez as a Graduate Voting Member by Chair Jared Smith, Seconded by Michalis Faloutsos
 - Voting Results
 - *Yea*: 7
 - Nay: 0

• Abs.: 1

• Jose Humberto Alvarez appointed as Graduate Voting Member.

- Madona Masoud
 - Motion to Appoint Madona Masoud a Graduate Non-Voting Alternate Member by Chair Jared Smith, Seconded by Michalis Faloutsos
 - Voting Results
 - Yea: 8
 - *Nay:* **0**
 - Abs.: 0
 - Madona Masoud appointed as Graduate Non-Voting Alternate Member without Objections.

- 5. VCSA Update
 - *Kim McDade* introduced *Luisa Levario* as the new CFAO for the Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs central office.
 - Luisa Levario gave an overview of her career and past experiences.
- 6. Finalize Chair Elections
 - Chair *Jared Smith* had contacted CSF regarding the possibility of not having a Chair until the fall. CSF had answered that the Committee could hold the Chair election in the fall if necessary.
 - Chair *Jared Smith* reminded the Committee that the requirement for being a Chair can be waived if there are no nominees. The requirement states that a student member of the Committee with at least two consecutive quarters of serve on the Committee shall be eligible to become Chair (Bylaw Article IV, Sec. A.) Nominees do not have to accept the nomination right away. Should no candidate be selected, there is an option of having an interim Chair until the Committee returns during the Fall quarter and a permanent Chair can be selected.
 - *Sally Tavizon* nominated *Essam Ulhaq*. Chair *Jared Smith* reminded the Committee that the Chair has to be a student, but an interim Chair doesn't have to be a student. An interim Chair would only serve until the accepted nomination of Chair by a student member in the Fall quarter.
 - Chair Jared Smith nominated Yulissa Navarrio.
- 7. Open Comments
 - N/A
- 8. Chair Comments
 - Chair *Jared Smith* reported that leaders of SSFAC's across the UC system met with UCOP to inquire about policy changes to the Student Service Fee according to inflation and benefits, and about procedures on when SSFAC should notify UCOP regarding disagreements with the university's administration.

- Chair *Jared Smith* reminded that there is a CSF meeting in the summer, which the Chair, interim Chair, or designee will need to attend.
- *Chair Jared Smith* reported that the year-end report is still a work-in-progress. If any of the Committee members would like to emphasize any information or points of discussion from this year's budget recommendation process, contact Chair *Jared Smith* as soon as possible.
- Chair *Jared Smith* noted that *Kim McDade* and *Luisa Levario* will be meeting with Vice Chancellor Haynes to deliver the Committee's recommendation and reasoning.
- 9. Adjourn: 4:03 PM
 - Motion to Adjourn by Michalis Faloutsos, Seconded by Rong Hai.
 - Adjournment Approved without Objections.